

Public Service Announcement

Liquor restriction systems in Nunavut

Start Date: September 3, 2019 End Date: September 20, 2019

Nunavut-wide 60 sec

The Nunavut Liquor and Cannabis Commission reminds Nunavummiut that liquor rules vary by community. In Nunavut, communities fall under three liquor systems: prohibited, restricted or unrestricted.

A **prohibited system** means the consumption, possession, purchase, and sale or transport of liquor is prohibited. The following communities are prohibited: Arviat, Coral Harbour, Gjoa Haven, Kugaaruk, Pangnirtung and Sanikiluaq.

A **restricted system** means an Alcohol Education Committee (AEC) is responsible for promoting alcohol awareness and regulating the purchase, sale and import of alcohol in the community. The following communities are restricted: Arctic Bay, Cape Dorset, Chesterfield Inlet, Clyde River, Hall Beach, Igloolik, Kimmirut, Naujaat, Pond Inlet, Qikiqtarjuaq, Resolute Bay and Whale Cove.

An **unrestricted system** means that only the general rules concerning the import, purchase and consumption of alcohol set out under Nunavut's *Liquor Act* apply. The following communities are unrestricted: Baker Lake, Cambridge Bay, Grise Fiord, Iqaluit, Kugluktuk, Rankin Inlet and Taloyoak.

For more information about restriction regulations in your community or for AEC contact information, please call 1-855-844-5488 or visit www.nulc.ca/liquor/.

Media Contact:

Weichien Chan Manager, Communications Department of Finance 867-975-6818 FinanceComs@gov.nu.ca